Season of Sharing

This is a great read. J.W.

Ninkasi's Niece

For a year and a half, sometime back in the mid-1990s, I lived and worked in Pusan, South Korea. I had a fabulous time there and think very fondly of the country and the people I met there. Immersing oneself in a foreign culture can be a very eye-opening experience, and sometimes it’s the little things that stand out: how Koreans use two hands when shaking or handing something to a person in order to show respect, how English words and phrases were used in very random ways on products and shirts and store names, how the public telephones all had a “report a spy” button, how–long before cell phones became ubiquitous here–my junior high school students in Korea seemed to all have pagers. At the time I was there, I was a beer-lover, but with only a few years of legal drinking experience under my belt, I was…

View original post 1,122 more words

Leave a Reply

